a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Another Frigid Day

After several days in the 30’s and 40’s last week, this 10 to 20 below zero weather really hurts!  It was -17 when I pulled into Casper, WY tonight.  Surprisingly, the wind wasn’t blowing too fiercely; maybe only 10-15 mph.

Since my last post I have added a couple more gallery pages.  Images of landscapes and rural scenery will be located in the gallery called, Before the Mountains.  My collection of landscape images is relatively small, so I have started with only five images that include Memorial Falls, a sunset on Barr Lake in Colorado, and several mountain scenes from Montana and Wyoming.  The From the Third Day gallery hosts photos of a variety of plant life.  The current series includes a number of wildflowers taken at Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, some others taken on the Lewis & Clark National Forest, and some “domesticated” flora from my travels.  As with all the galleries, the images will be rotated periodically – so check back now and again to see the new content.

On the lower portion of the sidebar on the right-hand side of this page I have started adding links to blogs and websites that I frequent.  I have also included Alesia’s website, Hearts Toward Him, which is home to a variety of Scriptural inspirations, as well as several gift items including Udder Delights Goat Milk Soap.  There are also a couple photography forums listed, as well as Michael J. Smith’s Magic Light Photography blog.  To say I am inspired by Michael’s images would be an understatement.  His landscape images are simply outstanding.    Another link I added is Roy Churchill’s Photos of North Devon.  While clicking through some bird photography forums I stumbled upon some of his images, and was really impressed with the quality of them.  A while back when I found myself frustrated with my photography results, I emailed Mr. Churchill, who lives in the UK and I have never met, and sought some advice on equipment and technique.  His response was a very detailed step-by-step checklist for capturing good images, which I have been successfully applying to my efforts.  I am very grateful for his generous assistance.

Tonight I will wrap-up with a springtime image, as I am eagerly anticipating the next season and a little warmer weather!

Robin Nesting

Leave a Reply

