a photoblog of God's handiwork.

The Old Passes Away

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” (2 Cor 5:17).

Her shingles have vanished, her back is swayed, the remaining skin of her body is worn thin.  Standing alone in a field of wheat stubble, she has a story to tell, but can’t attest to her history.  Was she once surrounded by cattle and sheep, who were nurtured at her stockpiled bounty?  Perhaps calves and lambs sought refuge under her protective coat to shield them from the lashing wind and burning snow that drifts high against her back?  Only hints of her history remain – her memory wanes from her decades of hard labor.  Her remaining days are few.  Perhaps a spring squall will write the final chapter of her story.  She is old, and will soon pass away.

This old barn and I have some things in common.  As time marches on, I find my body becomes pretty vocal about the services it has rendered over the years.  My knees pop and crackle, my back aches, and my shoulders groan; yet, I am a new creation.  The day I proclaimed my faith in Christ as my Lord and Savior, He made me new again.  When the old barn finally crashes to the ground, it will be her final chapter.  But after my life here on Earth is done, by the Lord’s grace and mercy, I will spend eternity with Him in Heaven!  No more aches and pains!  No stress or worldly concerns!  Eternity in the heavenly mansion He created for me!  “For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain” (Phil 1:21).

 

Leave a Reply

