a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Leaving the Nest

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in the truth.”  3 John 1:4

Its just a part of family life…children grow up and leave home as they embark on their next journey.  Some thirty years ago, when I left home for college, I don’t remember wondering about the impact of my departure on my parent’s lives.  But now the tables are turned as I see my own children stretching their wings, readying themselves to launch from the family nest.  Will I miss them?  You bet I will!  Am I happy for them?  Absolutely – I am ecstatic about what their lives will become.  While I know they will encounter challenges and setbacks, they will also be offered opportunities to fill their lives with meaning and purpose.  Because they walk in Christ’s truth, I couldn’t be happier for them or more confident that they can make the right decisions and choices.

In reality, comparing kids leaving home to birds leaving a nest is not a very good analogy.  A young finch gets a few lessons in flying and foraging for food, maybe even some experience evading predators – but when he finally sets his wings to the air and takes off, he no longer has his parents to help when unknown dangers approach.  On the other hand, our children can continue to seek advice and counsel from my wife and me, and we probably have a few nuggets of wisdom and experience left to share with them.  Even better, they have a direct line of communication with the Wonderful Counselor – who also happens to be our Mighty God, the Everlasting Father and the Prince of Peace!  Pretty good resume for a personal adviser, wouldn’t you agree?  So long as they continue to walk in His truth, their lives will be grand!

One response

  1. I am so thankful that I have two wonderful fathers to support me as I stretch my wings. And I am very thankful to be able to return to the nest whenever I need to, including in a couple of weeks!

    September 10, 2011 at 11:02 am

Leave a Reply

