a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Merlin; A Wizard, NOT!

I must have been near Camelot, because I found Merlin!

Merlin near Hemingford, Nebraska

My first post of 2012 features a first-time bird sighting for me. While traveling in Nebraska this week, I stopped along a shelterbelt on a rural road to take a break from driving and spotted what I thought was an American Kestrel. I fired away a series of photos, and it wasn’t until I downloaded them that evening that I realized my initial ID was incorrect. After researching the bird’s colors and markings, I learned that he is a Merlin, which is actually a small falcon. In some places they are nicknamed “pigeon hawks”, however they are not closely related to hawks. Merlins are fairly common in North America and Europe.

Merlin near Hemingford, Nebraska

2 responses

  1. Thanks, Geoff. I really appreciate your kind words.

    January 7, 2012 at 4:21 pm

  2. These are excellent images. The bird stands out beautifully.

    January 7, 2012 at 1:40 am

Leave a Reply

