a photoblog of God's handiwork.

A Break in Winter’s Monotony

I just wrapped up a 9-day business road trip, covering parts of seven states.  The weather was generally foul while driving, and my schedule was rather full when I wasn’t.  Given this situation, camera time was pretty limited.  During a deadhead cruise from central Iowa to the Denver, Colorado area, I made a pitstop at Amana, Iowa to return some phone calls and answer several emails.  That day, and the previous three, had been cloudy and foggy, so I had little hope of doing any meaningful photography.  However, as I was hunting for a WiFi connection to hijack in Amana, the clouds broke and the sun shone brightly.  Just as quickly as the sunlight appeared, birds were suddenly flitting around in the trees next to my parked pickup.  I captured the Cardinal and Blue Jay during the short period of sunshine.

On the second to last day of the trip, I made a detour to Barr Lake State Park in Colorado.  I have visited this park in the past, finding it a convenient place to take a couple hour break and an opportunity to stretch my legs around the perimeter of the lake.  On previous visits here, I have found the Northern Flickers tend to be unafraid of me, making great photography subjects.  Almost immediately a Flicker appeared in the trees and allowed me to get several shots off before he became bored with me.  There were also a number of House Finches foraging through the brush, offering yet another photographic target.

Photography is my relief valve; a way for me to clear my head and recharge myself so that I can meet the next challenge.  Knowing my schedule was going to limit my hobby-time, I prayed for some opportunity to capture something unique during this journey…as our Lord promises, my prayer was answered!  “And I tell you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” Luke 11:9

6 responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful photography!! I just love seeing pictures that exemplify our Master’s artwork….thanks for sharing.
    Blessings

    February 1, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    • May He bless you as well, April. Thanks!

      February 1, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  2. Betty

    I love thepicture of the flicker. They don’t usually let you get close enough. I also liked your comment about photography being a release valve – this is how I feel about it too.

    February 1, 2012 at 4:55 am

    • Hi Betty, I appreciate your comments, thank you!

      February 1, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  3. very nice pictures

    January 31, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

