a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Farewell Sand; Hello Snow!

Well, our short trip came to a rather abrupt end, at least in terms of climate change.  We departed sunny California on Sunday with 70 degrees weather, and woke up Monday morning in beautiful Fernley, Nevada, where it was 19 degrees and light snow!  The remainder of the trip home was relatively uneventful, which is usually a good thing when I’m driving (and some would say miraculous, considering how I drive!).  The past several posts on His Creation have featured a number of the landscapes and wildlife from our trip, but I still have a few more to share that didn’t seem to fit the other topics.

Whenever I am fortunate enough to photograph something that is rarely seen, I get pretty excited.  And, because I mostly photograph wildlife, particularly birds, when I get am image of a seldom seen critter, it is really exciting.  I was blessed with the opportunity to get some shots of a Greater Roadrunner.  Now this isn’t the most attractive bird in the world, but perhaps having grown up with the Bugs Bunny & Roadrunner Show gave this bird a special place in my heart.  It also may have something to do with a vivid memory I have of my brother and I chasing one of these birds through a sagebrush covered hill, actually thinking we might catch it!  Thinking back, we probably looked the part of Wile E. Coyote to anyone who might have been watching us.

In our neck of the woods we have a lot of Magpies, and for many years I thought all Magpies were the same.  It wasn’t until just a few years ago that I realized that here in the Rocky Mountains, we have Black-billed Magpies, but Yellow-billed Magpies reside on the west coast.  So, after chasing several uncooperative subjects around, I finally found one that seemed to enjoy posing for a portrait.

I find it humorous that some critters are considered pests when they are in your yard or farmland, but when you see the same animals in a park or at the beach, they take on a different significance.  Over the years I have spent hundreds of hours and untold cases of ammunition in attempts to reduce ground squirrel populations from the farms and ranches I’ve worked on.  Yet now I find myself shooting them with the camera!

Because the weather was still cold and snowy at Zion National Park, wildlife was pretty scarce during our visit.  We saw a few birds that were not particularly photo-worthy, but we did spot a Pacific Wren, which is another first-time sighting for me.  This little guy was flitting around the Virgin River as we hiked upstream to the Narrows.

I consider myself truly blessed to have the opportunity to enjoy and experience so much of God’s wonderful creation.  My routine travels take me to many wonderful and awesome places, some so unique that the camera can’t do justice in representing their grandeur.  Over the course of last week’s trip, we crossed the Continental Divide several time, wandered through parts of Zion National Park at roughly 8000 feet elevation, and walked the beaches of the Pacific Ocean.  We experienced beautiful, warm sunny days, fog-laden mountain passes and wind-driven snowstorms.  As amazing and incredible as all this is, the pinnacle of the week was coming home.  While we live in a nice home, surrounded by timber in a beautiful part of Montana, the excitement about coming home has nothing to do with those things.  It is all about getting back to a place where I belong, because I am wanted there, loved there, and there is place for me to occupy.  Coming home is always the best part, and I think it is just an inkling of how great it will be to finally go home to God’s kingdom.  Just think for a minute about what we have to look forward to; “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.  In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, thereyou may be also.”(John 14:1-3)  Sounds like a great place to spend eternity, does it not?  Everyone of us has the option of taking up residence in His house, we only need to find the way.  Fortunately we have been given the map to get there by the greatest Guide of all, Jesus Christ; “…I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6)  If you don’t know Christ, and if you haven’t asked Him to be the Lord of your life, you will never find the way.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Shroud over Zion « His Creation

  2. What a wonderful trip and wonderful message. Your photos are stunning!

    March 11, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    • Thank you, Donna, we did find some fun subjects along the road! I appreciate you dropping by and commenting.

      March 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  3. Malou

    Beautiful pictures, Ken!

    March 10, 2012 at 1:35 am

    • Thanks, Malou. And thank you for visiting!

      March 10, 2012 at 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

