a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Hide ‘n Seek

Employing covert techniques and a little entrapment have become game changing for my photographic exploits.  About a year ago, my father sent me a camouflage “hide.”  This is a small radius, tall, one-man tent with viewing windows on each side.  I don’t know why it took me so long to put it to use, but based upon the success of my first experiences, I am sure to be using it on a regular basis.  The inaugural event occurred adjacent to our house, with an easterly view of the pine forest here on the 20-Acre Wood.  Equipped with a camp stool and tripod, I spent a couple hours enjoying being invisible to the birds.  Not satisfied with simply being unseen, I felt compelled to bait birds nearer, so I fired up my iPad and played bird calls from the iBird App.  The built-in speakers are not very loud, so it was more a matter of drawing nearby birds closer.  This method didn’t yield any birds that I hadn’t seen during the previous week, but it certainly allowed me to get closer shots, with better image quality than I normally get when hand-holding the camera.

The "Hunter's Lair" Hide

The Red Crossbills were fairly easily drawn into close proximity, and soon I had them scouring the ground all around me.  Normally these birds keep a lot of real estate between me and them, but this strategy closed the gap considerably.

Red Crossbill Male

Next, I tried to bring the ever-present Nuthatches close.   Using recordings of both White-Breasted and Red-Breasted Nuthatches, both species came  to visit, and stuck around long enough to fire off several digital rounds.

I found the Black-capped Chickadees to be the toughest to photograph, mainly because they got too close!  These fearless little birds would land on the window edge, and sometimes on the camera lens!

We don’t have many Dark-eyed Juncos in the area yet, but I was able to bring one near, and he would respond to the recordings on cue!

Dark-eyed Junco

Dark-eyed Junco Singing a Tune

Using some deceptive techniques in this case has been quite a bit of fun.  None of the birds are any worse off because of it, and I made several nice images by doing so.  In life, however, we can be deceived by any number of things, and the consequences can be brutal.  The following list enumerates ways in which deception can be hazardous to your eternal health:

A man is deceived if he is a hearer and not a doer of the Word (James 1:22).
A man is deceived if he says that he has no sin (1 John 1:8).
A man is deceived when he thinks himself to be something when he is nothing (Gal. 6:3).
A man is deceived when he thinks himself to be wise with worldly wisdom (1 Cor. 3:18).
A man is deceived when he seems to be religious and does not bridle his tongue (James 1:26).
A man is deceived when he thinks that he will not reap what he sows (Gal. 6:7).
A man is deceived when he thinks that evil company will not corrupt good morals (1 Cor. 15:33).
A man is deceived when he thinks that the unrighteous will inherit the kingdom of God (heaven) (1 Cor. 6:9).

Now Satan will try to deceive you to not pay attention to the above. Will you let him? (Author Unknown)

4 responses

  1. Beautiful pictures. Loved how you tied in how you tied in of how Satan tries to draw us into deception. We must stay in tuned to the scriptures and engrave them on our hearts. Loved the scriptures that used in this post, too.
    Blessings

    April 4, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • April, your kind comments are appreciated!

      April 4, 2012 at 11:43 pm

  2. Betty

    Wow! Those are amazing. I especially like the white breasted nuthatch and the junco. Nice to be able to be that close. Looking forward to seeing more from your hideout.

    April 4, 2012 at 5:22 am

    • Thank you, Betty. It will be fun to see what other critters I can dupe with this!

      April 4, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

