a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Blending Into The Woodwork

I arrived in Evansville, Wyoming this evening as the sun was setting.  Wanting to stretch my legs after the 5-hour drive, I decided to make a quick hike through the Edness K. Wilkins State Park, along the North Platte River.  On previous springtime visits to this area I have seen Great Horned Owls, but generally they see me first, so my first glimpse is when they decide I’ve approached too closely, and they take to flight.  So tonight I determined to more vigilantly scan the trees ahead of me, in hope that I might actually get some owl photos in the golden evening sunlight.  My planning paid off quickly, and I spotted an owl perched in the branching limbs of a tree in the flood plain adjacent to the river.  The owls colors blend in with the colors of the dormant trees so well, that most people would walk right by without ever noticing the large bird above.

Great Horned Owl Looking Like Part of a Tree

I was able to work my way closer to make a pretty nice portrait of this handsome bird.

Great Horned Owl

Being vigilant in our lives is way to prepare us for what is ahead, keeping us safe and aware of dangers.  Likewise, we should be vigilant in our regard to the return of our Lord, Jesus Christ.  Lately there has been a lot of talk and speculation that we are currently in the end-times; but then there were some who thought so about 2000 years ago, too.  While I am not making any predictions, I am certain that His return is getting closer everyday, and there are plenty of signs that it will happen sooner, rather than later.  If God wanted us to know the precise time, I am sure He would have let us know in the Bible.  While the Bible doesn’t give us the exact time, it does tell us how to prepare for it:  “But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.  Take heed, watch and pray; for you do not know when the time is.” (Mark 13:32-33).  Take heed, watch and pray – sounds to me like He is telling to be vigilant and prepare ourselves, so that when that time comes, we are ready to join Him.

6 responses

  1. LindaSCgal

    What beautiful things God created for us to enjoy! I am so thankful He has given some the talent to take such beautiful pictures as well and share them with all of us!! Can’t believe how the owl blended into the environment. God has a plan for everything! Loved the message as well about keeping watch.

    April 26, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting! And I, too, am thankful for His creation!

      April 26, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  2. The pictures were awesome as always. Yes, we must be ready for Christ’s return. It is so important that we have our “homes/lives/hearts” in order in preparation for His wonderful return.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Blessings-

    April 5, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • His return can’t happen soon enough for me! Thanks for your visit and comments, April.

      April 6, 2012 at 7:10 am

  3. Ken, that is an amazing close-up shot of the Great Horned Owl! Save for its eyes, the winged creature really does blend in with the barks of trees.

    Yes, we are to be vigilant with regard to the return of our Lord Jesus Christ, and as you say, being vigilant also means to be aware of the present dangers that confront us.
    This immediately brings to my mind the apostle Peter’s call to be vigilant because our adversary, the devil, as a roaring lion, walks about, seeking whom he may devour.

    Thank you for the reminder!

    April 5, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • Thank you, Dee. Glad you enjoyed the post, and your comments are spot-on.

      April 6, 2012 at 7:07 am

Leave a Reply

