a photoblog of God's handiwork.

A Creek Runs Under It

I’ve driven by it, maybe a hundred times.  The sign along Interstate 25 between Douglas and Glenrock reads, Ayers Natural Bridge.  Sounds intriguing enough, yet it took me about 10 years to finally check it out.  Actually, I tried last month, but found a locked gate and a sign telling me it would be open in April.  So yesterday I took a short detour to find out what its all about.

LaPrele Creek flows under Ayers Natural Bridge

Ayers Natural Bridge is one of only three natural bridges in the United States that have running water flow below.  Located in Converse County, Wyoming, this state park is only about 10 minutes off the highway.  From April through September visitors can explore this natural wonder, without paying an admission fee.  As you exit the highway and head south, the landscape doesn’t compel one to expect anything unique, however after you crest the horizon, the geography makes a sudden change, with red rock outcroppings as you descend to LaPrele Creek.  After another mile, you will find a small parking lot located only a short walk from the bridge.  While this wouldn’t rank as a vacation destination for most folks, it is certainly worth the short drive if you are traveling through the “Cowboy State.”

When Burdens Become Bridges
Burdens, too, can often be stepping stones to higher ground! A biologist tells how he watched an ant carrying straw which seemed a big burden for it. The ant came to a crack in the earth which was too wide for it to cross. It stood for a time as though pondering the situation. Then it put the straw over the crack and walked over it! What a lessons for us! The burden can become a bridge for spiritual progress if we endeavor by God’s help to live the overcoming life!  (H.G. Bosch)

9 responses

  1. Pingback: A River Runs Through It, Wyoming Style « Two Different Girls

  2. Pingback: Wyoming Life

  3. It is a nice little spot. It can be pretty busy with picnicking people on the weekends when the weather warms up, but it’s a great stop on the weekdays. In July the hillsides going in are covered with the creamy white sprays of blooming Holodiscus dumosus, or Ocean Spray.

    April 11, 2012 at 9:09 am

  4. I didn’t know there were only three natural bridges in the U.S. Ayers is beautiful! I really like the story you found, too. That is a fantastic way to think about life’s burdens.

    April 9, 2012 at 7:25 am

    • There are only three with water running beneath them. I’m sure there are many more over dry ground. I’m glad you enjoyed the story!

      April 9, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  5. Thank you for sharing the awe-inspiring story about the ant and the straw, Ken. I have not associated burdens with bridges before. It’s a fresh insight for me. This is the first time I’ve seen a natural bridge, too. It’s awesome!

    April 7, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    • Dee, I have to admit that finding that story allowed me to take the easy route on this post! After reading it, I couldn’t come up with a better analogy to tie into the image. At first, I also thought it was a fresh perspective, however when I consider times when I have been most burdened, stressed or lost, those are times when I’ve become more in tune to the Holy Spirit’s leading, thus He became the bridge. The challenge for me is to allow Him to be that bridge everyday and all the time, not just when I am burdened!

      Thanks again for stopping in and sharing your thoughts!

      April 7, 2012 at 2:33 pm

  6. great location. maybe worth returning to in better light…

    thanks for sharing all the info 🙂

    April 7, 2012 at 2:17 am

    • Thanks for dropping by and commenting, Alessandro. Yes, the light wasn’t ideal during my visit, so I will re-visit the site on a future journey.

      April 7, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

