a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Just Kiddin’

It is that time of year again here at the 20-Acre Wood.  Kidding season is always accompanied by a lot of activity, as we welcome the new crop of goat kids to the world.  Only six does to kid this year, and we are halfway done.  [Edit: Actually we are kidding 8 does and have 5 yet to go!]  I say “we,” but it is actually Alesia and Leah doing the work…I get to take pictures!  Thought I’d share a few shots from the past couple days.

Leah with Duchess and her kids at 1 week of age

Duchess' kids a few days later, after dehorning

Happy Birthday Annie!

Only minutes old, and Annabelle is getting her first licking!

Just in case you’re wondering why we have goats, I thought I’d answer that question.  The base breed we have is Toggenburg, which is a dairy breed.  So Alesia milks them and she and Lauren drink the milk, but they also do a lot of cooking and baking with it and make cheese.  Alesia also makes goat milk soap, which she markets on her website, Hearts Toward Him.  But really, they just provide a whole bunch of entertainment!

“Know well the condition of your flocks, And pay attention to your herds,…And there will be goat’s milk enough for your food, And for the food of your household, And sustenance for your maidens.” Proverbs 27:23, 27

10 responses

  1. It’s a toss up about which is cuter- baby goats or baby lambs. I have raised both and just can’t decide! I love the age when they start running around and hopping and jumping for no apparent reason.

    I really like your blog and I have nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award. This award helps spread the word about bloggers we appreciate. The basic gist is to post the award on your blog, then pass along your recommendations for six other blogs worth reading.

    You can see my nominations at wyominglife dot wordpress dot com/2012/04/24/ive-been-nominated-for-the-reader-appreciation-award/

    Thanks again!

    April 24, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    • Karen, I agree that both baby goats and lambs compete for cuteness, but the goat kids simply make me laugh much more than lambs, as they tend to be more curious and acrobatic!

      Thanks for the nomination, I will pass it on to other worthy bloggers!

      April 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      • I agree they are such fun to watch.

        A fellow goat raiser had a truck load of boulders (and I mean BOULDERS) dumped in a pile in her goat pasture. The goats loved, loved, loved that. It was great entertainment to watch them play King of the Hill. They were cashmere goats and had a high degree of agility.

        April 27, 2012 at 9:00 am

  2. What adoreable kids, they are so sweet! I’m a softie for all things baby. 🙂 Thanks for sharing them!

    April 22, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    • Glad you liked them! Despite my initial feelings about having goats, they are really a blast to have around. I find it impossible to be around the kids and not have a smile on my face!

      April 22, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  3. I will have to check out Alesia’s website!

    April 22, 2012 at 8:54 am

    • Please do, I think you will like what you find there…it is more than just goat milk soap! Hope you’re enjoying the weekend!

      April 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      • It has been a restful weekend. In Kansas City, MO this weekend. The hubby had a seminar to attend…got some much needed rest and lots of walks with Smokey.

        April 22, 2012 at 5:53 pm

  4. I can’t wait to come home and see them!!!! And Annie and Annabelle are perfect names for them.

    April 22, 2012 at 7:47 am

    • They’ll have plenty of cuteness left when you return! And a summer full of baby goat escapades!!!!

      April 22, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

