a photoblog of God's handiwork.

The Right Perspective

This post marks the end of our southwest US journey, and I felt a lively, colorful finale was in order.  All the images in this post were taken at the Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix; a wonderful, peaceful spot in the midst of a behemothic metropolis.  Alesia and I enjoyed the better part of a day exploring the various desert habitats throughout the garden, and taking an extraordinary number of photographs along the way.  Many of the cactus begin blooming in April, and we were there on the early side of this annual cycle.  Admittedly, I was concentrating more on shooting birds and critters, but I did capture a few flowers and some other colorful subjects to share.

The bloom of the Argentine Giant cactus. This flower was about 7 inches across.

A couple Zebra Longwing seemingly mid-conversation

One of these is not like the others!

Spicebush Swallowtail just showing off

Do you feel cross-eyed when you look at this Julia butterfly?

I was concentrating on the still Zebra Longwing, but thought the intrusion looked good!

A macro view of the activity inside this cactus blossom

Two in bloom, and two more in waiting

If you want to see more photos from this region, my April 2011 trip was featured in the Rejoicing Desert gallery and  The Desert Shall Rejoice and Blossom.  I have come to truly appreciate the desert southwest, an area that I had always thought to be hot, dry and barren – but now I have a different perspective.  This year’s trip was much more enjoyable, because I was accompanied by my sweetheart of 25-plus years.  Seeing exciting and amazing things is so much more fulfilling when you have someone to share it with, and I am thankful that Alesia has come along with me all these years to share so many sights and events.  And I pray that she will be along for the ride for at least as many more.  We don’t get away together very often, largely because we enjoy and appreciate the 20-Acre Wood, where we live.  But it was nice to have four days alone-together with no critters to feed, no work to do, and no agenda to meet.  I found a short story that does a nice job of summing up what I think this trip did for me…

A landscape artist does not always stand at an arm’s length from his canvas. He must not limit his attention to the isolated details of what he is doing. Occasionally he steps back to view his work from a distance. He needs to see how his thousands of small brushstrokes fit together to produce an overall result.

Likewise, our perspective on life is much improved if sometime we can step back and see it whole. We can become so occupied with its daily brushstrokes that we have no real perception of the whole scene we are painting on the canvas of the ongoing years. Our attentions can be so consumed by the requirements of daily living that we have little awareness of the dimensions and directions of life itself.

Step back from the canvas a little, and try to see the picture whole. Look beyond the varied episodes of our daily doings and see the glory of it all. Look beyond the brushstrokes to see the art which the brushstrokes have made—and are making.

“But we all . . . beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord” (2 Cor. 3:18).

10 responses

  1. All wonderful! That Julia butterfly shot is awesome and I do feel crosse-eyed looking at him, LOL.

    May 16, 2012 at 7:12 am

    • Thanks, Donna! And I’m glad I’m not the only one that the Julia has that effect on!!!

      May 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  2. I learned a new word – behemothic! Thanks for these beautiful photos. Seeing them made me feel as though I were there.

    May 4, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    • Glad I could help enhance your vocabulary, Annie! In fact, it was a new word to me, too! I appreciate you dropping by.

      May 4, 2012 at 9:47 pm

  3. Captivating pictures, Ken! Indeed the beauty of places is always heightened when shared with your loved one.

    Yes, stepping back and seeing the whole picture of one’s life is needful once in a while. Thanks for that beautiful short story!

    May 4, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    • As milestones come and go, the story seemed fitting! Thanks so much, Dee.

      May 4, 2012 at 9:46 pm

  4. Stunning captures, Ken!

    May 4, 2012 at 2:31 pm

  5. Beautiful photos! I love Arizona.

    May 3, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

