a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Nest Near Him

Female Tree Swallow at Giant Springs Heritage State Park, Great Falls, Montana

Female Tree Swallow at Giant Springs Heritage State Park, Great Falls, Montana

There are a lot of verses in the Bible that I find perplexing when I first consider them.  Oftentimes I will seek the commentaries of other Christians to get a glimpse of what meaning they harvested from them, then I go back to the verse as I develop my own understanding.  This verse spoke to me, and I felt I had a pretty good handle on its meaning.   Animals, a product of God’s creation, don’t have the ability to challenge His authority.  The thought frequently crosses my mind that animals may have a closer relationship with the Creator than those of us who rebel against Him and fail to worship Him.  In our despair and loneliness, we may long for the innocent communion that exists between many things He created and the Creator Himself.

J. Vernon McGee summed this passage up much better than I could; ‘I think the sparrows built nests around the temple. The man who wrote this psalm, as he looked up and saw them, said, “I want to dwell like that. I want to live that close to God.” The Lord Jesus said to consider the little sparrows. They are not worth anything. In fact, you would like to get rid of them the way they chatter around and mess up everything. They are dirty little birds. The Lord Jesus said, “Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? Yet one of them shall not fall on the ground without the will of your Father”  (Matt. 10:29). Not one sparrow falls but what the Father sees it. Actually, the language is stronger than that. He says that the sparrow falls into the lap of your Father. He knows all about it.’

One response

  1. The Birding Bunch

    We just had a brood leave the Tree Swallow box. Six little ones left the confines of the small space to do what God made them to. Today, I could tell the young from the adults in flight. They swooped around like their parents, but yet there was a clumsiness. Practice, practice.

    Actually, I had been pondering that verse in Psalms. Where the altar was a place of sacrifice and death, for the swallows, it was a place of safety to raise the next generation.

    July 9, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

