a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Hiding in Plain Sight!

Last week I was traveling through rural, north-central Montana, and came across a Burrowing Owl perched on a fence post.  Having never seen this species before, I was pretty excited about shooting some pictures of him.  He flew down to the grass, but remained visible enough to get a few pictures.  It wasn’t until a few days later when I downloaded the images that I discovered another pair of eyes in the grass next to him.  After they both flew away several minutes later, I walked over to where they had been, and found a burrow that I would normally have thought to be a badger den.  (If you can’t see the female in the grass, click on the image to enlarge the view.)

20130612-BurrowingOwl-2624

8 responses

  1. Cool, Ken. I have never even heard of this species, nor have I ever seen one. But, no wonder. That is a well hidden owl! Evelyn

    June 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    • Thanks Evelyn. I would have expected to see them where the prickly pear and yucca grow; not so much in the big farmland of the Golden Triangle!

      June 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm

  2. Pingback: Saturday Links: Overwhelmed with God’s Creation | Creation Science 4 Kids

  3. beautiful…just look at the set of eyes behind the tall grass…perfect contrast

    June 22, 2013 at 12:10 am

    • Thank you, I appreciate your kind comments!

      June 22, 2013 at 12:14 am

      • you are welcome…

        June 22, 2013 at 12:15 am

  4. Very cool!!!

    June 21, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    • Thanks, I thought so, too!

      June 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Leave a Reply

