a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Billy Goat Gruff

Our trip to Glacier National Park at the end of June (Rugged Majesty) didn’t yield very many wildlife photos, but I was able to get my first-ever Mountain Goat images.  The Mountain Goats were hanging out on the west side of Logan Pass, along the Going-to-the-Sun Road.  There were only three goats in the group, a billy, a doe and her kid.  The most challenging to photograph was the billy, as every time I set up for a shot, he would head straight for me at a fast pace.  Not knowing very much about Mountain Goats, I assumed he wasn’t just coming to give me a friendly greeting, so I was continually backing away to keep from crowding his personal space!  The doe was in the midst of shedding her winter coat, so she looked pretty ragged.  Her kid, however, seemed in fine condition, albeit a little perplexed at its mothers pawing and rolling antics to escape her itchy jacket.

Headshot of Billy Mountain Goat at Glacier National Park

Headshot of Billy Mountain Goat at Glacier National Park

Billy Mountain Goat at Glacier National Park

Billy Mountain Goat at Glacier National Park

Mountain Goat kid and its shedding dam at Glacier National Park

Mountain Goat kid and its shedding dam at Glacier National Park

As excited as I was to finally capture some images of these great creatures, I really look forward to another opportunity to get some better captures.  Someday I hope to make some images near the caliber of the work of photographer Jim Garrison (Colorado Trails Photography).  He has put together an outstanding gallery of Mountain Goat images on his website at The Trail of the Mountain Goat.  You will not be disappointed if you take a few minutes to see his amazing captures.  A fellow believer in the risen Christ, Jim also gives credit to our wonderful Creator for the opportunity to capture the beauty and majesty of His creation.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Mountain goat nemeses everywhere! | Millard Fillmore's Bathtub

  2. Lovely captures! They look so clean and majestic.

    August 8, 2013 at 1:46 pm

  3. Stephanie McAtee

    I’d run, too, if I saw those horns coming my way! What beautiful creatures!

    August 5, 2013 at 7:38 am

    • I didn’t quite run, but I sure didn’t let him get too close!

      August 10, 2013 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

