a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Chasing the Sunset

I had a four-hour westward drive this afternoon, with the low winter sun in my eyes most of the way. Keeping an eye on the colors in the sky, I had decided that there was not going to be much of a chance for a scenic sunset.  For a short time my route took me through some narrow valleys that obscured the view of the setting sun, but when I came up to the high prairie near Sand Coulee, MT the sunset suddenly came alive!  I pulled over as soon as I could and fired off a short burst of images, as the brilliance of the show quickly faded away.

Sunset over the northern Rockies

Sunset over the northern Rockies

The evening sky is but a vast canvas to the Master Creator.

One response

  1. Kathy O.

    Don’t miss the cold, but I do miss the Montana sunsets. Nice way to end my day. Thanks for sharing it.

    November 25, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Leave a Reply

