a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Beyond Hope?

“God Bless America!”  Something we hear fairly often, and sometimes even may say it ourselves.  At one time in our history it may have actually been the earnest prayer of a reverent people.  But now?  Perhaps at best a trite wish of a people who don’t know God, and thus have no concept of His blessings.  I am not a pessimist, and being negative is not at all my intent here.  I believe that today I am being a realist.  I don’t generally agree with our 44th president, however I believe he may actually be onto something in quote below.  And if he is correct, then indeed our blessing is lost.

Blessing Lost

Is it too late?  Are we beyond hope?  “If My people who are called by My name humble themselves, and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” A quote from God in 2 Chronicles 7:14.

4 responses

  1. Kathy O.

    You must be wanting feedback to post something like this, friend. I guess I would send you to Genesis 18: 22-33. I think God is merciful and slow to anger. I do think Christians need to do more, and I’m not talking about politics because that always backfires and Jesus gets mud on His face. I’m talking about Christians getting more involved with non Christians. American Christians in general tend to live in a bubble. They listen to Christian music and have Christian friends and don’t interact much with others who are not. Ministry is messy and difficult and frequently unrewarding. How many Christians open their homes to foster kids or visit people in prison regularly or come along side a single mom and help her raise her kids for 20 years? Its so much easier to condemn others for their bad choices. If America is going to turn back to Christ, the children of God are going to have to roll up their sleeves and start doing the hard work of ministering to lost. When we point the finger of blame at others, we have 4 pointing back at ourselves. We have ourselves to blame in this.

    January 13, 2014 at 9:10 am

    • Thanks, Kathy! My intent here was to share my thoughts, as seen through my worldview. At the same time, I am happy to see that it did elicit some thoughtful response from you and Jim…two people who I have never met, by the way.

      I don’t disagree with anything you addressed, but I believe the issue to be more fundamental. As a society, we largely do not acknowledge God unless we perceive potential personal gain. And then He is too often “used” like we would an obedient dog or maybe Santa Claus, as we fire off commands and wishes that might be cloaked to look like prayers.

      While I agree that God is merciful and slow to anger, He does have His limits. Romans 1:23-26 refers to God “giving over” people to their sinful ways prior to His righteous judgement. This may well be the point where we as a society are camped right now.

      January 13, 2014 at 9:31 pm

  2. Sad, but I believe true Ken. We are a nation without an anchor or compass. A nation of ungrateful multitudes, who have no concept of the blessings we have enjoyed. History will one day record the time when we as a nation lost our way, and others will wonder in unbelief, why we were so careless and unappreciative. Is it too late? Only God knows.

    January 13, 2014 at 1:18 am

    • Yes, Jim. I used to read Old Testament stories with disbelief and disgust at how His people, who personally saw God’s hand leading them out of captivity and through the wilderness, could turn away from Him so quickly. I now realize that we, who are without excuse, are just as ignorant and unappreciative.

      January 13, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

