a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Golden Beginnings – Part 2

It is rarely good to start watching a series in the middle, so if you want to start at the very beginning, go and read Part 1 now.

Over the course of this past week the eaglets have grown considerably and appear to be more mobile, but still very awkward. When I visited the nest, the direct sun was upon them and they seemed warm by the panting they exhibited. The heat may have been the reason they kept apart, or maybe they’ve decided they get along better that way! In any case, there wasn’t any fighting among siblings today. One of the eaglets also appears to be significantly larger than the other, while both did look plump and full. Both parents were likely hunting while I was at the nest, and one made an empty-taloned fly-by towards the end of my stay.

This was as close as they got to each other while I was there. To help you with size perspective, I think there was about nine inches of space between them here, maybe a little more. (As always, click on the images to see them in a larger format.)

20140504-GoldenEaglets-9110

 

The one on the left is the larger eaglet, and he became aware of my presence and became a camera ham.

 

20140504-GoldenEaglets-9086

20140504-GoldenEaglets-9008

 

The smaller bird was actually pretty active as I approached the nest and set up my tripod and camera, but didn’t show a lot of ambition while I was shooting. Or maybe he was boycotting?

20140504-GoldenEaglets-9049

After reading through the Part 1 post, a reader asked how I was able to approach the nest in such close proximity. The photo below may help describe the layout better than words. The nest is about 40 ft up a Ponderosa Pine, which stands about 20 ft away from a sandstone rock outcrop. With a long lens, I can shoot the nest from the position where I took the photo below, and that is where I stay when the adults are at the nest. If the adults are gone, I will move to the top of the rock identified as the “Close Up Position,” which gets me a little over 20 ft away from the nest.

IMG_0482-Edit

 

I hope to continue this chronicle next week, so stay tuned…..

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Golden Beginnings – Part 4; Unfortunate Confirmation | His Creation

  2. Thank you for sharing these gorgeous little babies. 🙂

    May 23, 2014 at 6:28 am

  3. Ken, these are gorgeous and exciting!

    May 8, 2014 at 8:54 pm

  4. Jan

    Love your photos!!!

    May 4, 2014 at 10:57 pm

  5. Kathy Olson

    Very nice photos. Definitely not something you see photos of very often. Nice shootin’ Tex, I mean, Ken. 🙂

    May 4, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    • Thanks again, Kathy…this is a first for me.

      May 4, 2014 at 10:18 pm

  6. Jim Garrison

    Nice series Ken.

    May 4, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

