a photoblog of God's handiwork.

Thoreau and the Moose

Henry David Thoreau wrote,The moose is singularly grotesque and awkward to look at. Why should it stand so high at the shoulders? Why have so long a head? Why have no tail to speak of?” I think “grotesque” is being overly critical, but would have to agree with the awkward assessment. Despite their unique look, they remain one of my favorite mammals to see and photograph. On my trip homeward through Idaho I found a willing subject to spend a little time watching and shooting.

I don't think I'd want to get in an apple-dunking contest with this fellow!

I don’t think I’d want to get in an apple-dunking contest with this fellow!

20140619-Moose-CataldoID-10161

20140619-Moose-CataldoID-10209

Thoreau also wrote, These are God’s own horses, poor, timid creatures, that will run fast enough as soon as they smell you, though they are nine feet high.” In most cases, I fully agree with him here, however this fellow was aware of my presence, yet not at all bothered.

2 responses

  1. Jim Garrison

    Nice series ken.

    June 21, 2014 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

