a photoblog of God's handiwork.

A Veritable Tulip-Fest!

Last weekend I was in northwest Washington-state and my visit coincided with the beginning of the annual Skagit Valley Tulip Festival.  Over the past several years I have traveled on business to this part of the country, but wasn’t aware that the cut-flower and bulb business had such an economic impact in the Mt. Vernon-Burlington area.  And evidently the flowers were not in bloom at the time of previous travels, or I think might have noticed them.  My timing was fortuitous this year and I become one of the more than 200,000 people who flock to the locale each year to take in the sights.

The first field of blooms to draw my attention turned out not to be tulips, but daffodils!  And I actually believe I saw more acres of daffodils than tulips during my time there, however I didn’t cover the country extensively.  Even on a cloudy, dreary day, the brilliant yellow was impossible to miss.

20150329-SkagitVlyTulipFestival-6511

The variety of colors at the tulip farm was pretty amazing, and each row of flowers was like a work of art.  Mud and drizzling rain turned out to be a good thing, as many of the tourists stayed out of the fields and headed for their cars early, allowing for some relatively clean shots of the fields.

20150329-SkagitVlyTulipFestival-6628

20150329-SkagitVlyTulipFestival-6620

_R0O6572

While the tulip business in Washington doesn’t compete with Holland in terms of acreage or economic impact, it remains a very impressive sight to experience.  And the colors and beauty of the flowers serve as poignant reminders of He who made them!

20150330-TenantParkWA-6891-Flat

 

3 responses

  1. Kathy O.

    Wow! Those are so beautiful. My aunt who raised me for part of my childhood lived up there. Now she is buried up there and I miss her so much. But seeing all those beautiful flowers blooming is just so nice to think about. Thank you so much for sharing them. You made my day.

    April 3, 2015 at 11:35 pm

  2. Those are some amazing photos. Having the adverse weather be good for your needs is worthy of a sermon illustration. Praise the Lord!
    My grandparents used to live by Stanwood and talked about visiting the tulips. But family reunions were always in August for the weather and Grandma’s birthday, so I never saw them. Our local fields are beautiful on a smaller scale, but Holland, MI doesn’t see blooms until May!

    April 3, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    • Thanks Cheri! I find that God always provides a silver lining, if I am patient and attentive enough to see it. It is funny that tulips look the same, whether they grow in Washington, Montana or Michigan, but seeing row upon row of tulips with a multitude of colors…that’s something else!

      April 3, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

